Twin Cities Metro Watersheds

Minnesota has 80 major watersheds. Each is defined by rivers, streams, lakes, and wetlands.

Click on a watershed to learn more about it.

Lake Superior - North Lake Superior - South St. Louis River Cloquet River Nemadji River Mississippi River - Headwaters Leech Lake River Mississippi River - Grand Rapids Mississippi River - Brainerd Pine River Crow Wing River Redeye River Long Prairie River Mississippi River - Sartell Sauk River Mississippi River - St. Cloud North Fork Crow River South Fork Crow River Mississippi River - Twin Cities Rum River Minnesota River - Headwaters Pomme de Terre River Lac qui Parle River Minnesota River - Yellow Medicine River Chippewa River Redwood River Minnesota River - Mankato Cottonwood River Blue Earth River Watonwan River Le Sueur River Lower Minnesota River Upper St. Croix River Kettle River Snake River - St. Croix Basin Lower St. Croix River Mississippi River - Lake Pepin Cannon River Mississippi River - Winona Zumbro River Mississippi River - La Crescent Root River Mississippi River - Reno Upper Iowa River Upper Wapsipinicon River Cedar River Shell Rock River Winnebago River Des Moines River - Headwaters Lower Des Moines River East Fork Des Moines River Bois de Sioux River Mustinka River Otter Tail River Upper Red River of the North Buffalo River Red River of the North - Marsh River Wild Rice River Red River of the North - Sandhill River Upper/Lower Red Lake Red Lake River Thief River Clearwater River Red River of the North - Grand Marais Creek Snake River - Red River Basin Red River of the North - Tamarac River Two Rivers Roseau River Rainy River - Headwaters Vermilion River Rainy River - Rainy Lake Little Fork River Big Fork River Rapid River Lower Rainy River Lake of the Woods Upper Big Sioux River Lower Big Sioux River Rock River Little Sioux River