The Clean Water Council was created to advise the Legislature and the Governor on the administration and implementation of the 2006 Clean Water Legacy Act (Minn. Stat. 114D).

The 28-member council represents organizations with a major role in achieving clean water, enabling consensus building and coordination on a wide array of issues critical to the people of Minnesota.

Council recommendations

The Clean Water Council’s biennial report includes Clean Water Fund and policy recommendations, and  a progress report on Clean Water Fund activities, for the Legislature and the Governor. The Council’s FY 24-25 Clean Water Fund recommendations total $315 million.

Meetings of the full council

The Clean Water Council meets monthly. Meetings are held on the third Monday of the month (January and February are held on the fourth Monday due to holidays) and typically run from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. All are invited to attend.

Upcoming meetings

Recent meetings

Contact Paul Gardner for older meeting materials.

Stay connected

Sign up for the Clean Water Council newsletter.

Council members

Members serve until their successors are appointed by the appointing authority.

Member Representing Term expires Appointing authority
John Barten Nonprofit organizations focused on improvement of Minnesota lakes and streams January 2023 Governor
Steven Besser Statewide fishing organization January 2024 Governor
Richard Biske Environmental organizations January 2024 Governor
Richard Brainerd City governments January 2024 Governor
Gary Burdorf Township officers January 2023 Governor
Tannie Eshenaur Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) January 2023 MDH Commissioner
Warren Formo Statewide farm organizations January 2023 Governor
Justin Hanson Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) January 2023 BWSR
Kelly Gribauval-Hite Business organizations January 2024 Governor
Rep. Josh Heintzeman Minnesota House of Representatives Per appointing authority House
Frank Jewell County government (rural counties) January 2023 Governor
Jen Kader Environmental organizations January 2023 Governor
Rep. Kristi Pursell Minnesota House of Representatives Per appointing authority House
Peder Kjeseth Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) January 2023 MDA Commissioner
Holly Kovarik Soil and water conservation districts January 2023 Governor
Sen. Jennifer McEwen Minnesota Senate Per appointing authority Senate
Jason Moeckel Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) January 2023 DNR Commissioner
Jeffrey Peterson University of Minnesota (UMN) January 2023 UMN Board of Regents
Raj Rajan Business organizations January 2023 Governor
Victoria Reinhardt County government (seven-county metropolitan area) January 2024 Governor
Todd Renville Statewide hunting organizations January 2023 Governor
Sen. Carrie Ruud Minnesota Senate Per appointing authority Senate
Peter Schwagerl Statewide farm organizations January 2024 Governor
Patrick Shea City organizations January 2023 Governor
Glenn Skuta Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) January 2023 MPCA Commissioner
Phillip Sterner Metropolitan Council January 2023 Metropolitan Council
Jordan Vandal Representative of tribal governments January 2023 Governor
Marcie Weinandt Watershed districts January 2024 Governor

Member resources

Policies and procedures