MPCA rules govern the collection, transportation, storage, processing, and land application of animal manure and other livestock operation wastes. The rules apply to most aspects of livestock management including the location, design, construction, operation, and management of feedlots and manure handling facilities. There are about 18,000 registered feedlots in Minnesota.

Delegated county program

The MPCA administers the feedlot program in conjunction with some county governments. Most of the counties with a significant number of feedlots have agreed to implement the state feedlot rules and regulations and are commonly referred to as “delegated” counties. A delegated county is responsible for all aspects of the feedlot program for the smaller feedlots in their county (generally less than 1,000 animal units).

The MPCA oversees larger feedlots in delegated counties and all feedlots in non-delegated counties.

Stay connected

Subscribe to the Agriculture Stewardship newsletter to get updates on agriculture and water quality issues.

Feedlot compliance and enforcement staff

The MPCA provides technical assistance to help feedlot owners meet environmental requirements. Contact the compliance staff for your area for assistance.

Name Phone Email Counties served
Molly Costin 218-556-2786 molly.costin@state.mn.us Becker, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Mahnomen, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Wadena
Taylor Hosszu 218-849-7359 taylor.hosszu@state.mn.us Beltrami, Clay, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, Traverse, Wilkin
Rhonda Adkins 218-821-9727 rhonda.adkins@state.mn.us Carlton, Cass, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine, St. Louis
Kourtney Frank 218-232-9709 kourtney.frank@state.mn.us Aitkin, Crow Wing, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, Todd
Dana Leibfried 320-421-7648 dana.leibfried@state.mn.us Big Stone, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Swift, Wright
Will Martens 218-232-7802 william.martens@state.mn.us Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Hennepin, Isanti, Le Sueur, Ramsey, Scott, Sibley, Washington
Nick Timmerman 507-476-7122 nick.timmerman@state.mn.us Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Pipestone, Rock
Josh Kircher 507-476-3375 josh.kircher@state.mn.us Jackson, Lyon, Murray, Nobles
Jason Kaare 507-476-2221 jason.kaare@state.mn.us Cottonwood, Redwood, Renville, Yellow Medicine
Rebecca Novey 507-995-2623 rebecca.novey@state.mn.us Brown, Nicollet, Watonwan
Dave Malakowsky 507-461-3168 david.malakowsky@state.mn.us Faribault, Martin, Waseca
Mark Gernes 507-344-5260 mark.p.gernes@state.mn.us Blue Earth, Wabasha
Chelsea Habberstad 507-226-3898 chelsea.habberstad@state.mn.us Dodge, Freeborn, Goodhue
Paul Brietzke 507-206-2616 paul.brietzke@state.mn.us Dakota, Mower, Olmsted
Peter Kuisle 507-424-9132 peter.kuisle@state.mn.us Fillmore, Houston, Winona