Coon Creek Watershed District WRAPS (Metro): TMDL Project

Coon Creek

The Coon Creek Watershed District (CCWD) is located in the northern Twin Cities metropolitan area. The watershed encompasses approximately 67,891 acres and includes 12 lakes, numerous streams and wetlands, and the headwaters of the Mississippi River. Land use in the watershed is variable, but generally developed in the southern region and a mix of undeveloped and agricultural in the northern region.

In 2006, Coon Creek, Pleasure Creek, Sand Creek, and Springbrook Creek were placed on Minnesota’s 303(d) list of impaired waters due to stressors impacting the aquatic macroinvertebrate community. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) uses an Index of Biotic Integrity (IBI) to assess the biological health of streams in the state. Coon Creek, Pleasure Creek, and Springbrook Creek have also been placed on the draft 2014 303(d) list of impaired waters for exceeding the state’s Escherichia coli (E. coli) water quality standard.

The CCWD is leading the Watershed Restoration and Protection (WRAPS) project. The goals of this project are to determine the sources of impairments, quantify pollutant reductions needed to meet Minnesota’s water quality standards, and develop strategies for restoration of the impaired streams. The project will also include strategies for protecting water bodies in the watershed that are currently meeting the state standards.

Map and location

The CCWD is located within the Mississippi River - Twin Cities Watershed of the Upper Mississippi River basin. The watershed is located in Anoka County and includes the Cities of Andover, Blaine, Columbus, Coon Rapids, Fridley, Ham Lake, and Spring Lake Park.

WRAPS/Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) reports

Other documents


MPCA watershed project manager:
Jordan Donatell: 651-757-2254 or

Coon Creek Watershed District
Dawn Doering: 763-755-0975 or