Development of Commercial/Industrial Vapor Intrusion Mitigation BMPs

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is developing Best Management Practices for vapor intrusion mitigation at commercial and industrial properties. We hope to have the BMP document completed by the January 2019.

The existing vapor intrusion mitigation BMP focuses on single-family residential buildings and does not specifically address commercial/industrial buildings.

Stakeholder contributions and timeline

The MPCA has formed a stakeholder advisory group to provide input during the BMP development process. The stakeholder advisory group members are:

Name Title Organization Email Industry
Hava Blair Program Coordinator Minnesota Brownfields hblair@mnbrownfields.org Brownfield non-profit
Mark Ethen Chief Credit Officer Northeast Bank mae@northeastbank-mn.com Banking
Mary Finch Supervising Environmentalist Hennepin County mary.finch@hennepin.us Government/grant funder
Donovan Hannu Group Manager Bay West dhannu@baywest.com Environmental consulting
Briana Kirby Lead Environmental Risk Analyst Bremer Bank bskirby@bremer.com Banking
Rick Kubler Principal Gray Plant Mooty rick.kubler@gpmlaw.com Legal
Marcus Martin Senior Planner Met Council Community Development marcus.martin@metc.state.mn.us Government/grant funder
Linda Opperman Environmental Manager Target Corporation linda.opperman@target.com Commercial property redevelopment
Mary Sands Vice President Barr Engineering msands@barr.com Environmental consulting
David Stokes Senior Director Cushman & Wakefield david.stokes@cushwake.com Commercial Real Estate
Cathy Undem Senior Environmental Scientist Dakota County cathy.undem@co.dakota.mn.us Government/grant funder
Kaitlin Thell Ouverson Project Engineer Braun Intertec kouverson@braunintertec.com Environmental consulting

Members of the Commercial/Industrial Vapor Intrusion BMP stakeholders group

How you can contribute to the process

MPCA invites all who are interested to provide input during the BMP development process, not just those who are on the stakeholder advisory group. Stakeholder input improves BMP development by providing:

  • Technical expertise
  • Different perspectives
  • Your needs as a program user

Some examples of stakeholder contributions include:

  • Providing proposals to address policy issues
  • Review and comment during development process

To provide input:

  • Call or email the Vapor Specialist Team to discuss questions, issues and concerns
  • Contact a stakeholder advisory group member from your industry sector

Timeline showing the development of the vapor intrusion BMP for commercial developments

August and October Stakeholder Group meeting

At the August and October vapor intrusion stakeholder advisory group meetings, the draft mitigation framework for commercial and industrial buildings was developed. It was determined that long-term operation and maintenance of mitigation systems as well as institutional controls should be included in the mitigation framework as part of this best management practice (BMP) document. There was also discussion and development of a general framework regarding the process for when and how a mitigation system could be turned off.

The next step is for MPCA to develop a draft BMP document based on the mitigation framework agreed upon by the group. Our anticipated timeline is to have a draft BMP document for the group to review by January 2019.

June Stakeholder Group meeting

At the June 2018 vapor intrusion stakeholder advisory group meeting, we reviewed and discussed the issues and key questions the BMP should address. The goal was to clarify these issues and key questions so we can move forward with developing the initial BMP framework. An updated summary of the Issues and Questions document based on the June meeting is provided in the file below.  

MPCA is currently developing a draft initial BMP framework which we will review with the stakeholder group at the next meeting.

April Stakeholder Group meeting

At the April 2018 vapor intrusion stakeholder advisory group meeting, a review of the Vapor Intrusion Guiding Principles was completed. The MPCA is processing the stakeholder feedback and will adjust the guiding principles as needed.

Work was started on analyzing issues and key questions the BMP should address. The next step is to finish clarifying these issues and key questions.

Contacts

If you have questions about the BMP development process or any facet of it, contact a member of the MPCA Vapor Specialist Team.