Registration

The Minnesota Electronics Recycling Act requires these stakeholders to register: Manufacturers of VDD, collectors, and recyclers of CED.

Manufacturers

Registration is required to sell video display devices to Minnesota households. Brands of video display devices must be registered with the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency; brands that are not registered cannot be sold to households in Minnesota.

PDF icon Manufacturer registration form (w-gen2-52)

Form is due annually on August 15, or within 10 days of offering a video display device for sale in Minnesota.

Complete and submit MPCA registration form. Required information: 

  • Company contacts
  • Brands and device types
  • Note level of compliance with RoHS

Registration fee for previously registered manufacturers is calculated as part of program reporting (payable to the Minnesota Department of Revenue)

  • $0 for manufacturers selling fewer than 100 units of video display devices in the previous program year; includes new registrations.
  • $2,500 for manufacturers selling 100 or more units of video display devices in the previous program year

Collectors

Registration (free) is required to collect covered electronic devices from Minnesota households each program year.

HTML icon Collector/Recycler reporting and registration - Re-TRAC Connect

Registered collectors and recyclers will use Re-TRAC Connect system for reporting collection activities and registration for the upcoming program year. Check to see if your organization already has an account or create one, and join the MPCA Electronic Waste Program.

Registration due July 15 each program year.

Complete and submit MPCA registration form. Required information:

  • Company contact
  • Location of collection sites and/or services provided by the collector.

For collectors registered the previous program year, MPCA requires a completed reporting form before a collector registration is considered complete.

Recyclers

Registration (free) is required to recycle video display devices from Minnesota households each program year.

HTML icon Collector/Recycler reporting and registration - Re-TRAC Connect

Registered collectors and recyclers will use Re-TRAC Connect system for reporting collection activities and registration for the upcoming program year. Check to see if your organization already has an account or create one, and join the MPCA Electronic Waste Program.

Registration due July 15 each program year.

Complete and submit MPCA registration form. Required information:

  • Company contact
  • Location of recycling sites
  • Minnesota sites must have a generator ID for hazardous waste.
  • Minnesota recyclers of covered electronic devices must provide proof of $1 million liability insurance.

For recyclers registered the previous program year, MPCA requires a completed reporting form before a recycler registration is considered complete.