Lower Minnesota River

The western part of the watershed is rural and the middle and eastern portions are urban. Most of the population in the Minnesota River Basin lives in this watershed, including the Twin Cities metropolitan area. The watershed includes Sibley and Scott counties, and portions of Le Sueur, Carver, Hennepin, Dakota, Rice, Nicollet, Renville and McLeod counties.

Water quality concerns include levels of sediment, bacteria, nutrients and chloride, and their impacts to fish and other aquatic life.

What's being done

Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategies (WRAPS) and TMDL reports

The reports were open for public comment from July 22 to September 20. The MPCA thanks everyone who submitted comments. The agency is now reviewing those comments, considering suggested changes to the reports, and working on responses to all comments. All comments received and MPCA responses will be posted on this website when finalized.

Monitoring and assessment and stressor identification

Intensive water monitoring was completed in 2015.

Previous implementation plans