Lake Superior Basin TMDLs

The Minnesota part of the Lake Superior Basin encompasses portions of Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Lake, Pine and St. Louis counties, covering approximately 6,200 square miles. Major watersheds in the basin include the Cloquet, Nemadji and St. Louis River systems, as well as the North Shore tributaries to Lake Superior.

The Lake Superior Basin is Minnesota’s only basin that is on a Great Lake coastline. As such, the basin is in a unique position to take advantage of international, national and multi-state efforts to manage and protect the Great Lakes.

The TMDL projects located in the Lake Superior Basin are listed in the left column of this page.

For information about TMDLs, go to the main TMDL webpage.