MPCA Southeast Region

Welcome to the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Southeast Region. The Southeast Region includes MPCA Offices in Mankato and Rochester. Staff Members in these offices provide environmental protection services to citizens in 20 counties.

Rochester Office
18 Wood Lake Drive SE
Rochester, MN 55904
507-285-7343
Fax: 507-280-5513

Mankato Office
12 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 2165
Mankato, MN 56001
507-389-5977
Fax: 507-389-5422

Minnesota Duty Officer: 800-422-0798

You must call the duty officer for natural disasters, hazardous material incidents, petroleum spills, pipeline breaks or leaks, release of substances to the air, wastewater bypasses, and spills of of manure, food products, or other substances and pollutants.

Counties served

State Map of Minnesota showing the southeast region in greenThe MPCA's Southeast Regional Offices serve the following counties:

  • Blue Earth
  • Brown
  • Dodge
  • Faribault
  • Fillmore
  • Freeborn
  • Goodhue
  • Houston
  • Le Sueur
  • Martin
  • Mower
  • Nicollet
  • Olmsted
  • Rice
  • Sibley
  • Steele
  • Wabasha
  • Waseca
  • Watonwan
  • Winona

Southeast Region staff directory

Staff in the Southeast Region work with the following MPCA Programs:

ADMINISTRATION

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

South Watershed Manager

Wayne Cords
wayne.cords@state.mn.us

507-344-5245

Mankato

Municipal Wastewater
Section Manager

 

 

 

Watershed Unit Supervisor

Katherine Logan
katherine.logan@state.mn.us

507-206-2626

Rochester

Environmental Outcomes Supervisor

Lee Ganske
lee.ganske@state.mn.us

507-344-5248

Mankato

Wastewater Unit Supervisor

Aaron Luckstein
aaron.luckstein@state.mn.us

507-206-2606

Rochester

Office Administration

Jody Breuer
jody.breuer@state.mn.us

507-206-2617

Rochester

Office Administration

Cathy Eidem
cathy.eidem@state.mn.us

507-206-2631

Rochester

Office Administration

Jill Wolf
jill.wolf@state.mn.us

507-206-2632

Rochester

Office Administration

Carrie Zempel
carrie.zempel@state.mn.us

507-344-5249

Mankato

Information Officer

Catherine Rofshus
catherine.rofshus@state.mn.us

507-206-2608

Rochester

REGIONAL DIVISION

Feedlot SE Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Feedlot Compliance and
Enforcement/Permit Writer

Paul Brietzke
paul.brietzke@state.mn.us

507-206-2616

Rochester

Feedlot Compliance and
Enforcement

Steven Schmidt
steven.schmidt@state.mn.us

507-206-2618

Rochester

Feedlot Compliance and
Enforcement

Sara Isebrand
sara.isebrand@state.mn.us

507-344-5263

Mankato

Feedlot Compliance
Coordinator

Lisa Scheirer
lisa.scheirer@state.mn.us

218-846-8122

Detroit Lakes

Watershed SE Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Watershed Unit Supervisor Scott MacLean
scott.maclean@state.mn.us
507-344-5250 Mankato

Watershed Project Manager

Paul A. Davis
paul.a.davis@state.mn.us

507-344-5246

Mankato

Watershed Modeling
Technician

Jennifer Ender
jennifer.ender@state.mn.us

507-206-2620

Rochester

Watershed Project Manager

Shaina Keseley
shaina.keseley@state.mn.us

507-206-2622

Rochester

Watershed Monitoring
Specialist

Tiffany Schauls
tiffany.schauls@state.mn.us

507-206-2619

Rochester

Watershed Project Manager

Bill Thompson
bill.thompson@state.mn.us

507-206-2627

Rochester

Watershed Project Manager

Brian Green
brian.green@state.mn.us

507-206-2610

Rochester

Watershed Project Manager

Joanne Boettcher
joanne.boettcher@state.mn.us

507-344-5262

Mankato

SE MN TMDL Coordinator

Justin Watkins
justin.watkins@state.mn.us

507-206-2621

Rochester

MUNICIPAL DIVISION

Solid Waste SE Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Solid Waste Engineer

Sherri Nachtigal
sherri.nachtigal@state.mn.us

507-206-2600

Rochester

Stormwater Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Stormwater Compliance and
Enforcement

Roberta Getman
roberta.getman@state.mn.us

507-206-2629

Rochester

Stormwater Compliance and
Enforcement

David Bodovinitz
david.bodovinitz@state.mn.us

507-206-2654

Rochester

Wastewater SE Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Wastewater Engineer

John Carney
john.carney@state.mn.us

507-206-2640

Rochester

Wastewater Watershed
Planning

Marco Graziani
marco.graziani@state.mn.us

651-757-2398

St. Paul

SSTS Compliance,
Enforcement, Assistance

Steve Oscarson
steven.oscarson@state.mn.us

507-206-2604

Rochester

Wastewater Permit Writer

Nancy Heskett
nancy.heskett@state.mn.us

507-206-2605

Rochester

Wastewater Engineer

Corey Hower
corey.hower@state.mn.us

507-206-2603

Rochester

Wastewater Compliance
Coordinator

Mark Hugeback
mark.hugeback@state.mn.us

507-206-2650

Rochester

Wastewater Permit
Coordinator

Deb Lindlief
deb.lindlief@state.mn.us

218-302-6652

Duluth

Wastewater Permit Writer

Melanie Miland
melanie.miland@state.mn.us

507-206-2647

Rochester

Wastewater/Landfill
Hydrogeologist

Eric Porcher
eric.porcher@state.mn.us

507-206-2648

Rochester

Wastewater Compliance and
Enforcement

Teresa Roth
teresa.roth@state.mn.us

507-344-5252

Mankato

Wastewater GIS

Casey Scott
casey.scott@state.mn.us

507-206-2652

Rochester

INDUSTRIAL DIVISION

Air Quality Permit Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone Location
Air Quality Supervisor Cory Boeck
cory.boeck@state.mn.us
507-344-5253 Mankato

Air Quality Permit Writer

Bruce Braaten
bruce.braaten@state.mn.us

507-206-2607 Rochester

Air Quality Permit Writer

Marshall Cole
marshall.cole@state.mn.us

507-206-2653 Rochester

Hazardous Waste Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Hazardous Waste/PCB
Compliance and Enforcement

Joshua Burman
joshua.burman@state.mn.us

507-344-5243

Mankato

Tanks Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Tanks Compliance and
Enforcement

Zachary Klaus
zachary.klaus@state.mn.us

507-206-2649

Rochester

Tanks Compliance and Enforcement

William Lee
william.lee@state.mn.us

507-344-5251

Mankato

Water Quality Unit:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Water Quality Permit Writer

Robert Kostinec
robert.kostinec@state.mn.us

507-206-2628

Rochester

REMEDIATION DIVISION

Emergency Management:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Emergency Response

Mike Rose
mike.rose@state.mn.us

507-206-2609

Rochester

Petroleum Remediation:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Petroleum Remediation
Specialist

Artie Dworak
artie.dworak@state.mn.us

507-206-2633

Rochester

Petroleum Remediation
Specialist

Kate Lewison
katherine.lewison@state.mn.us

507-206-2615

Rochester

ENVIRONMENTAL ANALYSIS

Groundwater and Flow:

Title

Staff Member

Phone

Location

Groundwater/Flow Monitoring
Major Watershed Coordinator

Pat Baskfield
pat.baskfield@state.mn.us

507-344-5240

Mankato

Groundwater/Flow Monitoring

Mike Walerak
mike.walkerak@state.mn.us

507-206-2623

Rochester

Continuous Water Data Coordinator Eileen Campbell
eileen.campbell@state.mn.us
507-344-5244 Mankato

PREVENTION/ASSISTANCE

Certification/Training Unit:

Title Staff Member Phone Location
Municipal Wastewater Trainer David Bodovinitz
david.bodovinitz@state.mn.us
507-206-2654 Rochester

Environmental Economic Development Unit

Title Staff Member Phone Location
State Recycling Coordinator Vacant