Good news, better news in Lake Superior-North watershed draft reports

Contact:  Anne Perry Moore, 218-302-6605

Only one of 67 streams and 152 lakes evaluated for water quality standards along Lake Superior’s far North Shore does not meet the state’s criteria, according to two Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) draft reports open for public comment through July 19, 2018.

MPCA extends public comment period for proposed hog feedlot in Fillmore County

The proposal is to build a new 4,890-head swine farrowing facility about 10 miles east of Harmony in Newburg Township, Fillmore County.

Draft water quality reports offer good news and protection opportunities for Mississippi River-Headwaters watershed

The watershed that includes the iconic Mississippi River Headwaters has very good overall water quality, and forest protection is critical to preserve it.