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	Sand & Gravel Compliance Audit
NSPS Crushers
Environmental Audits


Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) compliance audit checklists are designed to assist businesses and MPCA staff with the interpretation of Minnesota’s environmental laws and rules. Because the laws and rules are numerous and often complicated, this checklist cannot be a complete guide to all your compliance obligations. If you have questions about the checklist, your obligations, or its conditions that you discover as you complete this evaluation, please contact:

Small Business Environmental Assistance Program (SBEAP)
651-282-6143 or 1-800-657-3938
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/programs/sbap-sectors.html
Nonmetallic Air Permit
	Date of Audit:
	     

	Company Name:
	     

	Authorized Representative Name:
	     
	Title:
	     


Minn. R. 7007.0800 Labeling Requirements 

You need to place the manufacturer’s serial number or another identifying number on each piece of crushing, screening, transfer operation, and stationary internal combustion engine equipment for tracking purposes within 60 days of your permit issuance.  

NOTE:  The number must be permanent and maintained so that it is readable and visible at all times and must correspond to the number contained in records regarding that piece of equipment. 

1.
Have you placed the manufacturer’s serial number or another identifying number on each piece of crushing, screening, transfer operation, and stationary internal combustion engine equipment for tracking purposes within 60 days of your permit issuance?  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Minn. R. 7007.0800, 40 CFR § 60.672. NSPS Subp. OOO NSPS Equipment Description and Notification

When additional equipment is added to the Permittee’s operations, an NSPS Equipment Description and Notification (NM-EQ form) must be submitted to the MPCA. The NSPS Equipment Description and Notification form must be used to provide these required NSPS notifications. You can find the NSPS NM-EQ form at:  http://www.pca.state.mn.us/publications/forms/aq-f4-nmsubm.doc.
NOTE:  All NSPS affected facilities must be accounted for in the NSPS Equipment Description and Notification form submitted at the time of permit application or in these subsequent updates. If a piece of equipment is not subject to NSPS, the Permittee must keep records to demonstrate that it did not need to be included in a notification.
2.
Do you complete and submit the appropriate NSPS Equipment Description and Notification (NM-EQ) form when you add any equipment subject to NSPS Subp. OOO?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Minn. R. 7007.0800, 40 CFR § 60.672. NSPS Subp. OOO Notification and Testing.

If you are the Permittee of a multiple-party non-metallic site covered by your general permit, you must insure that all equipment being operated at the stationary source has met the notification and testing requirements. 

NOTE:  You are not required to repeat the notices and tests if they have already been done; however, you must be able to indicate where the documentation of the notices and tests can be found. Also, replacement of any Subp. OOO equipment must be postmarked within 60 days after making the replacement. This equipment must be reported on the NM-EQ form described above.

3
Have you insured that all equipment being operated at your non-metallic stationary source have met the notification and testing requirements?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

NOTE:  This equipment must be reported on the NM-EQ form described above.

Minn. R. 7007.0800 New Location Notification 
(You can find this NM-RE form at: http://www.pca.state.mn.us/publications/forms/aq-f4-nmre.pdf)
4.
Do you submit a New Location Notification form (NM-RE) at least 48 hours prior to each change in location of a stationary source, establishment of a new stationary source location, or change in a capacity/dust control option at an individual stationary source?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Minn. R. 7011.3350 and 40 CFR § 60.672. NSPS Subp. OOO Equipment Opacity Limits
Your non-metallic processing crusher equipment can not exceed 15 percent opacity.

5.
Is the opacity from your non-metallic processing crusher equipment 15 percent opacity or lower?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Minn. R. 7011.3350 and 40 CFR § 60.672. NSPS Subp. OOO

All non-metallic processing screens, belt conveyors, bucket elevators, bagging operations, storage bins, and enclosed truck or railcar loading stations can not exceed ten percent opacity. 

6.
Are the opacity’s from your non-metallic processing screens, belt conveyors, bucket elevators, bagging operations, storage bins, and enclosed truck or railcar loading stations can not exceed? 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Minn. R. 7011.0715 and Minn. R. 7011.0710

For all non-metallic equipment put in operation on or after July 9, 1969, the opacity must be less than 20 percent opacity. 

7.
Is the opacity from all your non-metallic equipment put in operation on or after July 9, 1969,  less than 20 percent?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Minn. R. 7011.0715 and Minn. R. 7011.0710

For equipment put in operation before July 9, 1969, the opacity must be less than 20 percent opacity, except that a maximum of 60 percent opacity shall be permissible for four minutes in any 60-minute period and 40 percent opacity shall be permissible for four additional minutes in any 60-minute period. 

8.
Is the opacity from all your equipment put in operation before July 9, 1969, less than 20 percent opacity?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

40 CFR § 60.7(a)(1) and Minn. R. 7019.0100 Completion Dates

Notification of construction or reconstruction of your non-metallic facility must be postmarked no later than 30 days after the start of construction.

9.
Do you submit the Notification of construction or reconstruction (NM-EQ form) of your non-metallic facility no later than 30 days after the start of construction?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Notification of the anticipated initial startup date for your non-metallic facility must be postmarked no more than 60 days nor less than 30 days prior to such date.

10.
Did you submit the Notification of construction or reconstruction (NM-EQ form) for the anticipated initial startup of your non-metallic facility no more than 60 days nor less than 30 days prior to the startup date?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Notification of actual initial startup date of your non-metallic facility postmarked within 15 days after such date. 

11.
Did you submit the proper Notification of the actual initial startup date within 15 days after the startup date?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

40 CFR §§ 60.8(a), 60.675, 60.676, Minn. R. 7017.2015, and Minn. R. 7011.3350

Initial Performance Testing must be completed within 60 days of obtaining maximum capacity for your new or reconstructed non-metallic facility, but no later than 180 days after the initial startup date. You can locate the crusher and conveying performance test plan forms at: http://www.pca.state.mn.us/air/ptest-planning.html.
12.
Was your initial Performance Testing completed within 60 days of obtaining the maximum capacity for your new or reconstructed non-metallic facility, but no later than 180 days after the initial startup date?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
Go on to the next question.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. Go on to the next question.  

Performance test notification to the MPCA for your new or reconstructed non-metallic facility equipment must be postmarked at least 30 days prior to conducting a performance test.

13.
Did you submit the test notification to the MPCA for your new or reconstructed non-metallic facility equipment at least 30 days prior to conducting the performance test?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 YES
This checklist is complete.  

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 NO
This is a deviation and must be recorded on the NM-DRF form. This checklist is complete.  
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